Laptop with only one jack/ Windows 10 doesn't sees my microphone

Nortalf

Hi.
I have Acer Aspire 7 laptop with only one jack port. How can I connect my microphone (Tomson M142G) to computer?
I've tried with this device which doubles jack slots.
IMG_20200829_154036.jpg

I thought that if it's computer for gamers, and some of them uses hedphones with microphone, maybe microphone and headphones can be pluged in to one port. But it didn't helped.
I am total noob, I don't know how it works. Please help me. Thanks

It is probably a 4 conductor jack - one made for stereo audio out and mic in. You can probably find some type of adapter-splitter, but be aware that the mic input in a laptop doesn't have much of a preamp, so plugging your dynamic mic into it is probably not going to get a very good signal. A USB audio interface will solve your issues, as it will become the soundcard for your computer, rather tan the cheap one that comes standard in laptops.

As said, spend a little cash (under $100) and pickup a USB interface of some kind. You'll have a decent mic preamp and a way better in and out of the computer.

If you INSIST that you just want to plug in a mic and headphone you will need something like this.

TRRS Adapter

Check the one you have, it probably only has a 3 conductor plug.

Hi Nortalf and welcome. You might need one of these: https://www.ebay.co.uk/i/1243160485...XMoXt5A5y85BvGAJkzbAm02T9O5ZdGJBoCxvAQAvD_BwE

I did for my Lenovo T510 W10 laptop which has only a headphone output jack. No '4pole' geewizardery, just does NOT have any other audio input except the internal microphone.

The wee adapter works really well and delivered a good signal at low noise from a cheap headset I have.

The other problem you might have is recording the mic. This can be done using Audacity, I can tell you how if needs be. Reaper also works but I shall let someone more familiar with that to help.