just getting started - baby steps...

crayner

Hi All,

I am just getting started with this. I have 2 kids, 1 is playing Bass/Keys, the other has an Alesis drum kit... I play guitar. We are in an apartment and I'm looking for the ability to all play together over phones with no sound in the apartment. I'm playing through a Headrush Pedalboard - looking for suggestions on being able to practice together silently... eventually we will move towards recording, so components chosen should have this in mind.

Thanks for any input you might have
C

Hi All,

I am just getting started with this. I have 2 kids, 1 is playing Bass/Keys, the other has an Alesis drum kit... I play guitar. We are in an apartment and I'm looking for the ability to all play together over phones with no sound in the apartment. I'm playing through a Headrush Pedalboard - looking for suggestions on being able to practice together silently... eventually we will move towards recording, so components chosen should have this in mind.

Thanks for any input you might have
C

We REALLY need a budget and an idea of what you have already, I mean, do you have enough headphones? Guitar amp? If so does it have an FX out jack? If acoustic best micc'ed up.

In the current (Jan) issue of Sound on Sound is a review of the Zoom Live Trak L8 a mixer/interface that has 6 mic/line inputs and can record up to 12 sources. It also has 4 headphone outputs, almost nothing else on the market does that.

The L8 is just short of £400 but in truth you are not going to do this a lot cheaper. Yes, you could buy a budget mixer with enough inputs but you will then need a headphone amplifier to feed you all (the Behringer HA400 is really good for its money) Come recording time you will have to spend again for an interface.

Dave.

Mixer with effects and USB (for recording to computer(stereo mix only, not individual tracks)) plus a headphone amp with ability to connect up to four headphones(?)