I'm buying my first ever audio interface TODAY. For the price, does anyone...

BrianBurke

Think I'd do better than the Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 MKII 2019 Black? I'm a beginner so I'm not pretending to know about this model, but a friend who's played for decades raved about the MKI of this interface and I just read an article that the MKII is a big upgrade. I have a MacBook Air with a USB and Thunderbolt 2 port but may upgrade in the future if that matters.

I guess I'm asking, at this price range, is there something that's obviously better or would it be a matter of opinion? Is there any general consensus?

Thank you.

Brian Burke

You should be good with that. Has everything you could want. What DAW are you going to use, not that it really matters. And what instruments?

Thank you! Are GarageBand and Logic Pro DAWs? If so, those. Electric guitar only and maybe a mic eventually.
GarageBand is generally considered more of a intro/consumer DAW, though it has been used by many to produce full length, fine sounding releases. In its current form, it's really a de-featured version of Logic Pro X, which certainly is a pro DAW. If you already have that, I would go straight to that and learn from there, because while it doesn't hide things from you (i.e., as GB does), one result of that is you will actually understand what's happening, once you can produce a track. The downside is that it might take you longer to produce that first track.

May i also suggest the Steinberg UR22c or UR44. Exceptional at the price. Also comes bundled with Cuase AI and Cubasis. Worth a look.

Hi Brian, I am perhaps rather well known as a bit of a champion of the KA6 around here!

One of its greatest attributes is perhaps not quite so important when used with a mac? That is its very stable drivers but I don't have a mac so I cannot tell you. I CAN say that if you need to use the interface on any other operating system you will be fine. The KA6 is the least fussy AI I know off.