I am a total newbie...

Celeste

Ok, first off, please do not laugh...I am totally boneheaded when it comes to this stuff.
I have an hp pavilion xe5240 laptop with Windows XP.
I only have a headphone and mic jack.
I want to record my old vinyl records to my pc and make mp3's.
I was told by hp that I need to get G-ware and change my mic to an input jack (which I downloaded, but have no idea what to do)
I was also told that I have to get a specific jack to go from my house stereo amplifier to my mic jack.
I was also told to download LAME for so that I can make MP's.
I also downloaded audacity.
I am SO CONFUSED.
Like I said, I am a total newbie, but refuse to buy these records all over again when I have them collecting dust.
(Unless I play them on my turntable. LOL!)

I also use MP3 CD converter when I rip my CD's.
I have Winamp, WMP, and unfortunately, I don't know what other information you may need to help me.

I'm sorry for being such a putz, but I can't find any help anywhere and I am so lost!!!
Thanks so much!!!

I think this link will help you with setting up the mic input to line level.

http://www.gentner.com/tech_support...g=/tech_support/product_support.php?prodid=16

Once you do that purchase the cable they told you that you need and hook up the stereo to the mic input. From there just run your recording software while you play your vinyl and most likely it will save it in a .wav format. From there just convert it to your mp3 using Lame or any mp3 converter software. G/L and welcome to the BBS.

I used my Behringer Mixer ($50) as a pre-amp and went from the record player>Pre-amp>CD Recorder. I used 2 of the channels and panned them hard right and left and set the gain till it was just about hitting red. I used a stand alone TDK CD-R/RW recoreder. Everything came out just fine.