I am absolutely dreadful at recording, mixing and everything else - please help

Dogwatcher

Hello Everybody, Apologies if I've posted in the wrong place.

I hope all is well with everyone. I'm new to Home Recording. I'm working on recording vocals along with backing tracks, making Youtube videos etc. I'm using Cakewalk by Bandlab, an Edirol UA-101, a Shure BG 2.1, a PG 58, a small M-Audio BX5a as a monitor.

I recorded this god awful piece of work :wtf: (please see attached) and anyone will clearly see I haven't got a clue what I am doing.

I put a bit of compression and a bit of reverb on it. I seem to have even screwed up the sound of the backing track.

Can someone please help me to be able to get some sort of decent sound?

I appreciate any help at all.

Kind regards

Dog.

View attachment Me & Backing Track - Sorrow.mp3View attachment Me & Backing Track - Sorrow.mp3

Are you using headphones to monitor the backing track (that you should have imported to a stereo track in Cakewalk) along with the hearing your vocal in the headphones. While recording you should not be using the BX5a monitor (you have just one?), just a pair of headphones (preferably a 'closed back' type to minimize sound leakage back to the mic).

If the backing track doesn't have some headroom you need to add it. Lower the track, preferably with clip gain, so its peak is about -12dB. Then turn up the headphones and record your vocal to an average level of about -18dB, leaving plenty of headroom.

It sounds like the track is recorded via you singing along to the music coming out the speakers? Tell us you didn't do this and used headphones - and - where is all that hiss coming from?

Thanks so much everyone. As clueless as I am, I was wrecking my head, and it kinda dawned on me, hey, that's what they all use the headphones for. Not that I knew that would be a fix, but it will be my next attempt. So my hands are up for starters on using the BX5a Arcaxis.