How to switch from tape cassettes.. to the real world (thee digital world)

dylan21502

Hello all, newbie here. I am currently also somewhat of a newbie in my career working as a Forest Technician where I'm required to use a tape cassette recorder almost daily. Being handy little tools, they're preferred over the more common data collection methods of pen n pad as it tends to speed things up. However, we've recognized a problem-- the world's running out! We can't find many new one's at all and the used ones come with problems (IF they can be found at all..).

Understanding this issue, we realize the need to explore the digital realm. The issue with digital recorders though-- no instant rewind function. Our data collection requires specific functionality that the cassette player/recorders suite extremely well. Here's a data collection example: [Red Oak, 16", 1 Log]. That's 1 entry of a particular "file," if you will. So I measured that tree> recorded the data via audio recorder> paused the recording> found next tree to measure> repeat (×300, literally). All 300 trees MUST be on the same recording.

A list of requirements/examples:

-We MUST be able to review each recording- ex) rewind, make sure we didn't cough and misspeak, trip, fart, etc.. Test to make sure recorder is funtional too; understand, these devices will go through Hell.. Rocky terrain etc. We're use to buying replacements and would rather do that than pay 3× the price for durability that is unrealistic for this 'improper use' of the devices lol.

-1 file per day. I cannot have 1 tree per file.. that could be 500 files...for 1 crew man.. (we could have up to 5 crew members per day..). I would be willing to combine all 500 into 1 file but seems inconvenient. I must sound picky as Hell..!