How do producers manipulate the sounds of instruments?

YoungCapone

Hello! I’m new to producing music and want to learn more about manipulating the actual sound of an instrument. I’ve heard of things like sound design, synths and timbre, but I’m not exactly sure where to begin. Basically, I’m interested in learning how to adjust the physical sound of an instrument and hopefully being able to direct what kind of emotion it conveys. I was hoping y’all could give me some guidance about what topics I should look into, how I should approach learning more about this or how to think about manipulating the sounds of instruments.
Thanks

Hello! I’m new to producing music and want to learn more about manipulating the actual sound of an instrument. I’ve heard of things like sound design, synths and timbre, but I’m not exactly sure where to begin. Basically, I’m interested in learning how to adjust the physical sound of an instrument and hopefully being able to direct what kind of emotion it conveys. I was hoping y’all could give me some guidance about what topics I should look into, how I should approach learning more about this or how to think about manipulating the sounds of instruments.
Thanks

Well, what have you got? I assume you mean modifying sounds in a computer? If so you need a Digital Work Audio Workstation aka 'DAW'. This is the software that allows you to record and replay instruments. You can also have internal, totally 'virtual' instrument such as synths and sample based creations of things like piano, bass ad inf.

At its most basic level a DAW will allow 'EQ' of the sounds, that is 'tone control' boosting or cutting frequencies. You will have dynamic modifiers. Compressors, limiters and, in the more complex DAWs, multi-band dynamic control. You can usually add reverberation and delay effects.

There are several free DAWs around now you can download.

If I have just droned on off topic please advise!

Dave.