How best to record multiple inputs to Boss-BR864 stand alone 8-track (2 inputs)?

jimmiep

Hi, newbie here!

I've got a BR-864 standalone 8-track recorder, which only allows 2 simultaneous tracks to be recorded through the following 3 inputs:

GUITAR/BASS: Nominal Input Level: -24 dBu // Input Impedance : 1 M ohm
MIC (Phone/XLR): Nominal Input Level: -44 dBu // Input Impedance : 8.9 k ohm
LINE: Nominal Input Level -16 dBu // Input Impedance : 15 k ohms

It has served me well recording on my own, building up track by track, however I'd like to be able to use it to record band practices, and want to capture:

1. Vocal
2. Guitar (Mic'd amp)
3. Bass (Mic'd amp or DI)
4. Drums (at least 2 overhead mics, ideally 4 mics (Bass Drum + Snare/Hihat + 2 overheads)

This means at least 5 inputs, ideally 7 inputs, into 2 tracks on the BR-864

What's the best way to go about this? What kit do I need (excluding mics)?

I have mics, but only one mic pre-amp (Joe Meek - not the best but works quite well for me)

Any advice gratefully received!

Thanks

Record the instruments 'live' with 2 mics placed strategically in the room. Record, listen back, adjust mic positions and instrument volumes, then try again until you get a decent balance. Then track the vocal separately onto a new track.

Alternately, get a mixer with enough inputs, get your sound output from that balanced the same way (record, listen, adjust, record again).

Record the instruments 'live' with 2 mics placed strategically in the room. Record, listen back, adjust mic positions and instrument volumes, then try again until you get a decent balance. Then track the vocal separately onto a new track.

Alternately, get a mixer with enough inputs, get your sound output from that balanced the same way (record, listen, adjust, record again).