Help with room set up please

brahmawayrecord

Was up??
im new to this whole home studio thing. I just need to know if I made these diy sound panels correct? I bought some sound proof insulation from lowes and I built a frame for the stuff to fit in. I bought some fabric from Walmart and covered them. Me being the paranoid guy I am, I then recoverd them with moving blankets. I just want to know if that's too much because I have more of the insulation and want to make more. any help please.

Hey. Welcome to the site.

Depending on what Lowes sells as "sound proof insulation" will depend on how good your panels will be. In most home studios, the problems lie with the lower frequencies. Say 500hz and down. A good sound absorbing panel will have a density of about 3lbs per cubic foot. Something like Owens Corning 703 or 705. Rockwool is similar though not a bonded fiber type material.

I think adding the moving blanket is not going to hurt anything and might even help. You might lose more top end freqs, but can maybe compensate for them.

The big questions are: What is the size of your room, what are the dimensions of your panels and how many panels did you make? Oh and what is the sound proof stuff that Lowes sells?

If it’s Roxul Safe’n’Sound, which I also got at Lowe’s, you are good.

I used up 2 bundles, or 24 batts, in my small room. 12 went into 3 floor-to-ceiling, double thick bass traps.

I didn’t add any moving blanket material though.

room dem....11ftx10ft and 8ft high
the panels I built are 34inx49in(including the 2x4's)
insulation is the roxul sound proofing... I layed two panels next to each other and framed them...2in(1.5) deep

I don’t know the specs of the material you used but bass traps need to actually trap bass frequencies so usually are pretty thick. Safe’n’Sound comes in 3” thickness so I doubled that with a 3/4” airgap for my corner traps. It’s designed for use in walls with 16” centers so it sounds like what you used is that wide but thinner?