[SOLVED] HELP Recording digitial piano

MindCrave

Hello, everyone. I'm having trouble recording my Kawai ES110 piano. I'm a complete newbie to music recording, and the thing I'm confused about is how to record the sound from my keyboard. I have Scarlett 2i4 audio interface and also 2 TS 1/4" cables. I tried connecting the piano via line outputs to an audio interface line inputs, but to no avail. I tried using Audacity but, unfortunately, there's no sound recorded when I touch my keyboard (MIDI btw is working fine). I'm pretty sure I'm messing up with those stereo/mono settings, but that's not certain. Would be extremely grateful if someone can explain what should I do. Thank you!

(The pictures of piano and audio interface inputs/outputs can be easily found online).

I haven't tried other musical instruments, but I've successfully recorded a mic through it, as well as piano MIDI.

I haven't tried other musical instruments, but I've successfully recorded a mic through it, as well as piano MIDI.

Aha! :D OK.. just going over the basics.

1. Do you know for sure if an audio signal is coming out of your ES110 line outs?

2. Was the mic connected to your interface using an XLR cable.. where you had to use phantom power?

3. When you plugged the ES110 cables into your interface, did you flip the LINE/INST switch from LINE to INST?

1. No I'm not 100 % sure about it. Generally, it should be the line outs.
2. Yes , exactly like that.
3. No, I didn't. It stayed at Line.

---------- Update ----------

Thanks, but I've seen these. Didn't really help...

Do you get any indication on the 2i4's signal LEDs that the keyboard is sending a signal? If not you can prove the 2i4 line in function with a "wet finger test".

Plug a TS (guitar type) jack lead into line 1 and fully advance the gain. Have headphones around neck, NOT on lugs!