Help on recording classical flute (tips/techniques)

ec_music

I'm new to recording and could use some help on improving my flute recordings, currently using a Apogee Mic+ on a stand placed 2-3ft away and above the performer. I can't seem to get the lows to come out or capture reverb well recording the flute, maybe I'm adding too much gain on mic.

I been avoiding going to XLR equipment due to size and budget, but it may be unavoidable to get better recordings.

Thanks,
Erci

To be fair - this mic is pretty decent for a USB mic, so I suspect your problem is physical - you've not found the right mic position yet, and the room itself may be working against you. I think we'd need an audio sample on soundcloud or similar so we could hear the problem. In my studio, flutes sound rather 'windy', so my best results are often with quite a bit of HF removed and plenty of experimenting with artificial reverb to put some air back in. My flute is not good - needs a service quite badly, so the best mic position for a warmer low end means it's also closer than ideal and the pads clack like the devil. I can go more distant and lose definition, but reduce the mechanical sounds, or go in closer for a warmer sound and be stuck with needing to change my technique to reduce the keyway noise.

Don't have access to include a youtube link, MozartSC.jpg
Well, could do this, remove the spaces: https : // youtu. be/JnYhFzGv-kM

First, let me commend you on your playing. It sounds very good to these admittedly "amateur" ears.

Listening to the recording on the video, the first thing is that you have a fairly lively room. It makes the reverb very short, and gives a somewhat hollow character to the sound. The piano and flute both show the same "space". I don't know if changing rooms is an option, but it would help to have some type of acoustic treatment to tame the reflections.