headsets

ecc83

I am a newb to Skype and find wearing headphones gives both son in France and I in UK a much better understanding. We are also both using a Citronics CCU3 LDC instead of laptop mic.

I am sure a headset would improve matters even more so can I ask for other's experiences please? I think USB is the way to go but the sets range from $15 or so up to many $$ with the bulk in the $20-$50 range.

I would not want the bulky 'gamers' cans and "noise cancelling"? Both our places are very quiet and the mic above works fine. Also don't need inline controls, once set in Windows, done and dusted.

Lastly..."Freezing" Pic and sound with son in France every 30 seconds or so and for 10 secs at a time..BLOODY annoying! Might be a glitch in W10 I read, anything known?

Dave.

Lastly..."Freezing" Pic and sound with son in France every 30 seconds or so and for 10 secs at a time..BLOODY annoying! Might be a glitch in W10 I read, anything known?

More likely to be bandwidth issues than W10. I've done Skype before, and you get the occasional freezes when the connection can't keep up due to other traffic or whatever.

More likely to be bandwidth issues than W10. I've done Skype before, and you get the occasional freezes when the connection can't keep up due to other traffic or whatever.

My download speed is a very consistent 24-26M and upload never less than 9M. That is from 'Ookla' but Google give download as 33M but I never get an upload better than 9 no matter which test I run. Not 'Light' speeds but good enough? Son is using internet via a phone so that could be the problem?

"Other traffic"? What would that be Gecks? I turn off email etc when I Skype will tell son to do same. I have installed Skype on a W7 laptop but have yet to do a linkup with that.

BTW, those speeds are via Wi Fi but the laptop is less than 2mtrs from the very good Talk Talk router.

Dave.