Getting the right mixer/interface for my multi-track homestudio.

Marmew

Hi everyone,

First of all, thank you for welcoming me and running this forum.]

I have some experience with home studios myself, as I made some productions in the past. I just moved to a new place with a musician friend, and we are looking to go next-step and forming our home-studio that will be mostly dedicated to live music playing in the appartment.
Groupe 10.png

Attachments

• Groupe 10.png
    Groupe 10.png
    141.7 KB · Views: 18
Last edited:
How many tracks do you want to record at one time? There's a ton of audio interfaces available under $500. (Forget 'mixer' - mixer are used for live mixing of multiple instruments/mics to fewer outputs, although some newer mixers do have USB multitracking capability.)

That would about 4 audio input (jack/XLR, some unbalanced and some balanced) and 2 midi inputs, meaning 6 tracks recording at the same time.
I attached a scheme to the original post.

Understood for the interface, the first step for me is indeed to define the vocabulary. It would be important for me that this interface gets different buses for different monitor mixes.

Hi and welcome to HR! :)

If any of your midi devices are USB then that's fine; They can stand alone.
If not, midi devices can be chained as long as A: one of them has a thru port in addition to in/out, and B: Each allows you to set a custom channel for it to operate on.

If your devices don't meet that criteria, then you would need and audio interface with multiple midi inputs, or a separate usb midi interface.

For audio it looks like you just need two XLR microphone inputs and two DI/instrument inputs.
A lot of interfaces have a switch to allow DI/instrument on their first to inputs, so have a shop around and see what you can find.

At a quick glance, something like the Focusrite 6i6 should cover your needs with two DI and two XLR with phantom power, simultaneously, and a midi input.