Get a Mac or keep what I have mixed with my PC?

ChadderCheeze

Next month I will have some cash in hand to finally obtain the rest of what I need to start recording on my own.

Here is my question: I own a PC that is only about 1 month old. I own a Zoom MRT-3 drum machine. I own a Fast Track Pro interface, and I own a nice condensor mic.

I have seen what Macs are capable of merely using the software that already comes with them (Garage Band). Heck, even the built-in mic sounds better than a lot of mics I've heard. The portability is also attractive.

I'm a newb when it comes to recording so I'm not sure if I should get a new Mac and mix it with everything I already have...or use my newer PC and get some nice software and any cords I may need.

My recording projects will mostly consist of all solo stuff; not band stuff, though when it's done it'll sound like one. I'm not a drummer so I'll have to make my own beats.

Thanks for reading and taking the time to try and help me out!

~Chad

Have you actually used the PC to record ? Would you use it specifically for recording if you used the PC ? Or the Mac, come to that ? I think you should do what you're itching to do.

Garage band is basic as hell...install Reaper onto your PC and get recording Chad...there is little to no difference between PCs and Macs, I own both, they are just different tools that do the same job....:)

a pc is every bit as capable as a mac, especially now that they run on basically the same hardware. If you have some extra cash, invest in your room and monitors.

a pc is every bit as capable as a mac, especially now that they run on basically the same hardware. If you have some extra cash, invest in your room and monitors.

It was the Mac that switched to the superior hardware used in the PC, not the opposite.