gaining volume from zoom r16 mixes

TRDECK

Hello,
I am fairly new to recording, and am having trouble getting volume to match other songs in my music library, or on the radio etc. on my Zoom R16
I have ran eq on tracks and mastering effects, used the normalizer etc. wondering if I am missing something, or is the zoom r16 just not apt at getting that finished "studio volume" ?
I have tried to search solutions, as to using the limiter in audacity, but that isn't working either.

any advice would be greatly appreciated.

The 'studio sound' I remember being automatic. The equipment used was the sound. You could adjust the microphones placement, but it always sounded full and big. The Engineer even showed me just plugging into the desk with nothing. It was huge sounding.

If you are having trouble capturing the sound in the room. Fullness, etc. I would contact tech support. Get help . Look for setup issues or diagnostics on the USB or inputs.

I’m running direct(drum machine, guitar etc)into the Zoom r16, no mics, except for vocals.
The sound is great on the machine itself, especially after mastering, but when I convert to mp3 to play file on speakers or in the car, it just isn’t as loud as other music.

it just isn’t as loud as other music.

You have covered the setup and have faith its correct. Moving on.. What are the levels? The mains have a meter, and sometimes the render meter has a meter thats calibrated different. Look into that.

I found that youtube and Soundcloud have a level of -16 LUFs as a standard. Anymore and they turn it down automatically.

Say during recording you keep the peaks under -6 db on the meter. No clip. Then move to master the MP3 or Render it.

On mastering how much are you baking it up ? I bump the levels up where they need to be on the mastering stage as needed. Till I get -16 LUFs.

Watch some youtube videos on recording levels. This is what i have absorbed . Still working it out myself.