A Few Stupid Questions about Recording with a Microphone and Room Treatment

Stonesfan123

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to recording and I have a few questions about recording vocals. So I've got this insulated/soundproof shed in my backyard that my dad uses for woodworking, and I thought that it would be an ideal place to record vocals, but for some reason the sound quality of the recordings I've made in there is absolutely shit compared to the ones I've done in my bedroom (which, of course, I can't use as it's not convenient for noise reasons). Also, I've noticed that while recording in there, my mic picked up the smallest sounds like my computer fan and whatnot, and this doesn't normally happen at all in my bedroom. Does anyone know what might be causing this, and would you know of any solutions to the problem? I'm much more concerned with the sound quality, to be honest. I’m using a Shure Beta 58a dynamic vocal mic, if that helps. Also my shed isn't completely soundproof either; the ground has no carpet, and I'd say only about 70% of the walls actually have insulation on them. It's also full of tools and workbenches, among other things.

I've also been looking into setting up a vocal booth, or something like that. I'm willing to spend about 300-400 dollars, but I'm afraid that I might end up with the same crappy recordings that I got in my shed as I don't really know what I'm doing, and I'm not too keen on blowing all that money on something if I'm going end up with the same cheap results... So I guess that the bottom line is, I need an insulated/soundproof place where I can record vocals without anyone hearing me from the outside, in which the sound quality won't be really crap, like it is in my shed, and I've got a bit of money to spend. Does anyone have any suggestions? Any help would be seriously appreciated. Cheers!