Feedback on first mix?

annabelluketic

Hi, I’m a beginner learning to mix- just got this song off a multitrack site and thought I’d give it a go using Protools First.

I understand that I’ve got a very long way to go from here so I’m asking for some constructive feedback on my first mix: Where do I go from here? What can I start learning today that will help make my next mix more professional? What’s my next step?

Also, this was a live recording and I think the vocalist was moving around quite a bit but I wasn’t sure how to fix it- what can I do about this? Thank you in advance!

Attachments

• Slow Down.mp3
    2.9 MB · Views: 15
Hi, I’m a beginner learning to mix- just got this song off a multitrack site and thought I’d give it a go using Protools First.

I understand that I’ve got a very long way to go from here so I’m asking for some constructive feedback on my first mix: Where do I go from here? What can I start learning today that will help make my next mix more professional? What’s my next step?

Also, this was a live recording and I think the vocalist was moving around quite a bit but I wasn’t sure how to fix it- what can I do about this? Thank you in advance!

I don't think it's that bad actually. For a first try it's pretty awesome.

Keep the vocals in the spot light, any instruments start to take away from that duck them in volume to sit them juuuust behind, if you want a particular track louder in volume than the vocal then be careful of the high end because your attention will be drawn to it. Listening on laptop so literally can not hear bottom end so can't advise you on this. Is that insanely loud 4 clicky kick a part of the bass drum? OR the bass drum? It's very.... very loud, definitely turn that down. It's got far too much high end it sounds more like a clap to me instead of a thump. Too clicky, which is 4-8khz area, need to tame that.