Extreme background hiss with Behringer Xenyx 302 USB mixer + AT4040 mic

zoulvisia

Hi all. Apologies in advance if this is the wrong place - I thought about posting in Recording Techniques, but it's not a technique question per se. Just a cry for help (and I am a newbie, so...).

[the following paragraph is just detailed background/adding colour to the narrative - feel free to skip]
I've been doing some really simple home recording of vocals + piano for the past 10 months, after buying myself an AT2020 USB mic in January. I like the AT2020 in a lot of ways - as a USB mic, it's really straightforward to use and doesn't require any external parts (great for me, since I'm a weekend hobbyist at best), it has great quality for the price... but I've hit a point where I want something a little better. There's a kind of graininess to the AT2020, I find, and I find it adds a weird tinniness/shrillness to my high notes - which is a problem, since I'm a soprano. Of course, I know *I* could be the source of the shrillness ;) but anyway, I was at a point where I just wanted to try something new for comparison - and, most importantly, a non-USB mic. I saw really good reviews of the XLR AT2020, but I settled on a step up to the AT4040 after researching the specs/watching a bunch of videos/reviews from female vocalists/etc.
[/end]

Since I'm just a casual hobbyist, though, having splashed out on the AT4040 I decided to look for budget options for the associated gear. I ordered the Behringer Xenyx 302 USB mixing device, and only realized after ordering that it only supplies 15V of phantom power when I need 48V for the AT4040. Per Behringer's advice, I ordered the InnoGear 1 48V phantom power supply to put between the mixer and the mic.