Entry level recording setup for gaming commentary/podcast.

Mr.Pixel

Hello,

While I am proficient with PC hardware/software and build high-end gaming PCs as a side job, when it comes to audio I am a newbie.

Myself and a few others will be starting up a gaming channel which will include commentary and podcasts. However, with my current setup I have some audio recording issues. My current motherboard, while great for gaming and overclocking, is known to have issues with electrical interference causing a lot of static. To make matter worse, my headset microphone can produce a lot of pop when too close to my mouth.

Current products:

Motherboard with on-board sound card - Asus Crosshair V Formula (SupremeFX X-Fi 2) [Asus.com]
Haedset - Corsair Vengeance 1300 Analog Gaming Headset [Corsair.com]

I need to upgrade my audio recording equipment, however I am on a tight budget as I have a lot of stuff generally I need to purchase over the coming weeks and months. The following products have been suggested, and I wanted to hear the opinions of other people before committing to them.

Sound Card - Tascam US-122 MKII USB Audio Interface [dv247.com]

Microphone - AT2020 Cardioid Condenser Microphone [Amazon.co.uk]

Boom Stand - Microphone Stand Boom with free Mic Clip [Amazon.co.uk]

Pop Filter - Power Dynamics PDS-M16 Microphone Pop Shield Recording Filter [Amazon.co.uk]

I cannot post links to these products I'm hoping to get advice on. But you can search for them on the sites listed in the square brackets.

While I know that these products are not the most high-end products I could purchase, I am reluctant to invest a lot of money until we know that the channel we're creating will take off or not.

My questions...

Are these products good enough to start off with?

Are there any cheaper alternatives that would do a good enough job for what I need?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Last edited: