Electronic music producers, how do you progressively add effects in your session?

basal

I know this is a very open ended question however I would like to clarify that I'm a newbie indie-electronic producer and I wanted to hear some different perspectives from electronic music producers on how they progressively add effects over time to their session.

When I produce, I generally I start with tracking of drums, perc, bass.
I then go on to add harmony and melodies based on how I'm arranging the song.
Once I feel I have made a solid song I start with the "mix".

Now to elaborate on my question: Are there certain effects that should be only used during tracking phase and are there effects that should only be used during the mixing phase?

I would think that during the tracking/arrangement phase one can use effects like reverb, delay, distortion, filters (among others?) to create interesting sounds, but should there be a limit on their use before compromising on the overall mix/balance of the song?
I have had the idea of using effects like EQ, Compressor/Limiter, Noise Gate only during the mixing phase (and perhaps during mastering).

I appreciate any perspective. Thank you!

I'm not really sure anymore what is included in these genres, but for anything I do, things that change a sound's character so it inspires how you play it I treat as something part of the sound, so I add them to the destination track at the start, before I hit record. For my music, it tends to be big reverbs, gain make-up in a compressor not doing compression, delays, modulation and spreading plugins that thicken. Anything that I know for certain I won't need to change. EQ, and then 'sitting in the mix' effects then get added in the usual way when I mix. If I have spent ages messing with a sound, to prevent accidental changes, I'll take the recorded track with it's effects and route that to a group and add mix effects to that.