Does the quality of an audio interface matter if you have a preamp?

ForeignFaraz

Hello, I’m an aspiring audio engineer and I am looking to build a home studio for Rap/HipHop. I have a few questions I couldn’t really find anywhere online, the first one being that does the audio interface matter if I’m purchasing the preamp. I am aware that there are preamps built into the audio interface, but i want to achieve a cleaner and better sound by buying the pieces separately. So I’m curious if I purchase a preamp separately, does it even matter what preamp I purchase? What is the benefit of having a better interface with a separate preamp other than translating vocals into line format before it hits my DAW. I want to spend more money on a better preamp if that is the case. Thank You so much!

For most folks, the extra preamp accomplishes two things - it gives extra gain that is needed for some of the less sensitive dynamic mics out there (like the SM7b) when the interface cannot provide sufficient clean gain, and it can also provide some "color" to the signal vs. the mic preamps in the audio interface, which nearly everyone describes (enthusiastically, if the manufacturer) as clean, colorless, etc.

You won't generally get a cleaner sound (from an external preamp), unless your interface's preamp is simply not up to the task of providing enough clean gain for the mic and voice being recorded.

In almost any case, if you get an external preamp, which one you get matters more than the interface, because the preamp is what will determine how the microphone signal sounds when it reaches the interface, which will largely become simply an A/D box for that track. If you get a preamp that only provides a clean gain, and expect something that adds color, or vice versa, you will be disappointed.