Does it matter which OS I use?

FenderKid29

I'm fairly new to this Home Recording with the computer business, as a lot of us are here heh. But, I'm new enough to wonder which operating system would work best for recording. I mean should I stick with windows? and if so which version, go with linux? mac? i mean what would be preferred for recording. Probably sounds like a stupid question, but I was just wondering...

-Andy

Forgot to mention...

I have a home built PC, with 512 mb DDR PC3200, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Plat, 2 80 gb WD hard drives...2 guitars, 2 vocal mics, an amp and some chords...lol just to give you an idea of the situation. I also have the Logitech 5.1 surround...but I need your input on what I might need and why...Thanks again.

Personally, i would say Windows is going to give you the most sound card compatibility and software availability...
Ive recently switched from XP to 2000 pro and am happy with it, it seems to use less resources and is the most stable windows yet...
and judging by what you have already, youre probably going to want to get a better quality sound card or at least a little mixer...

Yeah I've been thinking about switching over to Windows 2000 Pro. But a lot of the guys I work with have been telling me that XP is probably the most compatible. But, I'm looking for stability as well. And about the mixers...I've been looking into getting one of them as well, but really don't know where to begin. My old guitar teacher told me I would need monitors because my logitech speakers are going to color the actual sound. And he also mention condenser mics or something or the other, lol. I'd like some input on any ideas you might have, or anyone else as well. Thank you greatly...Andy

Well,
as far as mixers and monitors and all that, it mostly comes down to what you can afford...i wont go into specifics on brands or anything because its alot of ground and if you look around this site you should find most of it already is out there...