Do keys matter?

YoungCapone

(Beginner here)I made a simple melody in the piano roll of FL studio and started shifting it up one semitone at a time (keeping the intervals the same). I notice that there was no real difference in how the melody felt as I shifted it up or down. It made me think about why keys or octaves were important. I’ve heard some things about how historically, there were implications involving the way different instruments were made and what not, but in today's day and age does it really matter if we’re making music digitally?? I feel like what’s most important are relationships between notes (intervals). Thoughts???

(Beginner here)I made a simple melody in the piano roll of FL studio and started shifting it up one semitone at a time (keeping the intervals the same). I notice that there was no real difference in how the melody felt as I shifted it up or down.

Huh? Low notes should start to rumble.

When you transpose a tune (i.e. shifting the whole thing up or down), the relationship between the notes in a melody is preserved. If you are creating , say, EDM, then it doesn't really matter what key the medoy is written in.

You mentioned one consideration, which is the mechanical capability of musical instruments. If you are wirtingsay, orchestral scores, then you need to know what notes the various instruments are capable of reproducing.

Similarly, if you are expecting people to sing a melody, it has to be pitched within their voice range.

Songs are transposed to different keys all the time, and are still recognizable. In fact, it is quite common for a singer to lower the key of older songs as they age and their vocal range drops.

For vocalists, its very hard to impossible to correctly sing above or below your natural range. For an instrumentalist, it may require a complete reworking of chords into difficult positions. This can be fixed for guitar by adding a capo. A really good pianist can often transpose on the fly.