Did I fuck up my mic by disconnecting before turning off phantom power?

DarinD

Hey!

I am a total beginner of recording music trying to figure out how to record in Ableton Lite. I will describe an event that just happened, with some questions in the end.

I just got a NT2-A microphone (second hand, un-used, 3 years sine purchase).
and a Focusrite 2i4 2nd gen.

It seemed like the DAW was picking up audio from the mic while I was talking, but I couldn't hear anything in my headphone. Fair enough, keep on trying.

Dramatic Event:
In the Audio track on the DAW, I switched "Monitor" from Off to Auto. Then my computer started making a hella noise, which made me panic and disconnected both the USB from the computer and the microphone from the 2i4.

The noise kept going, so I went to figure that out and got it stopped (not exactly sure how).

Going back to trying to hear me from the microphone, I now could only see it pick up audio slightly when whistling. Only when maxing the gain I finally could hear myself.

I searched on internet and found out that it might be caused by disconnecting the mic before turning off phantom power, which I did when panicked (I did understand the meaning of phantom power or what the 48V button was used for).

So, here I am sitting, worried my mic just got broken.

My questions are:

Why can I only hear myself when talking when the Gain is maxed?
Could it be because I pulled the plug when phantom power was on?
Are there any negative consequences?
Is the microphone broken?
What is a solution?

Mucho gracias

Hi Darin,
It's not a great idea to pull the mic with phantom power engaged but it's highly unlikely that it flat out broke the mic.
It's possible, but far from conclusive.

If your speakers were turned on when you enabled monitoring then the loud noise was probably feedback, which isn't anything to worry about,
although feedback should stop pretty abruptly if you D/C the interface and/or mic.