creating drums

chazzyG

Hi, i'm a complete newbie to home recording, and don't intend on taking anything too seriously, i do it so i don't forget songs and is better than recording stuff on my phone. (and more fun)

I've only just got started and am currently using cubase LE5 that came with the alesis io2 express i got for christmas. I can get lovely guitar sounds through there and am now starting to think about drums. Is there anything on cubase LE5 that i can create drums with and how? and if not is there another programme i can get into the DAW to do so?

thanks in advance =)

Though they aren't the greatest, you can get basic drum sounds from HalionOne on an instrument track.

If you are looking for easy drag and drop drum beats, then get something like EZDrummer.

EZDrummer is a good start. But if you believe you can program to a drum grid, then do as Jimmy says and give HALion a try. Their drums can be quite believable if processed right.

I'm completely whoring for Steven Slate Platinum 4 these days... I'm in my post Addictive Drums phase... those snare drums just defeated me.

The OP's looking for something for free.... nothing much worth having, I'd say... there was a guy here somewhere who was setting up his own drum VSTi... I downloaded all the files but never actually installed it. It might be in the archives of the drum forum somewhere, perhaps... or the Digital Recording forum (because I'm not sure why I'd ever have stuck my head into the Drum forum... :D). Anyway, perhaps he still has it on offer for nix as a beta test.

Otherwise, pony up, and welcome to home recording. Leave your wallet at the door...

I'm completely whoring for Steven Slate Platinum 4 these days... I'm in my post Addictive Drums phase... those snare drums just defeated me.