Convert and enhance old live Board Tapes to Digital - Questions

StPaddy

Hello,
I have lots of old cassette mono board tapes from my band, basically plugged a cassette recorder up to the mixing console and have dry live performance. I have been attempting to dump them down to my computer DAW (MixCraft 7) and do some work on them to get them to sound a little better, with questionable results. I am a newbie and could use some advise and direction on the primary steps to take.
I have been making 2 tracks out of the one, to simulate a stereo effect and using EQ and Compression and a "noisey tape" reducing plugin...... it sounds different but not sure if i am way off in what i am doing.
Any help would be much appreciated.

I am not qualified to tell you anything about DAW treatment (did clean up 50 sides of punk 45s for daughter some years ago though with Sony Soundforge) but you do need to get the best results you can from the cassette machine.

A good machine is a start but you will also need access to the replay head to tweak the azimuth to get the best HF response from the tapes, and they won't all set the same! A good supply of ISIOPROPA for head and tape path cleaning...EVERY side!

I am not sure if trying to get a stereo effect is a good idea? A stereo deck will play a mono tape as two mono tracks. I would leave them like that.

Dave.

When I transfer tapes, assuming I'm not using the same deck I recorded them on, the first thing I do is align the head to the recording. There's information on the tape that can't be recovered by any other means if the alignment is off. It's a delicate process that involves going back and forth between some listening based procedures and some measurement based procedures. The listening based part of it involves turning the HF way up on the playback system and tweaking the alignment screw. The measurement based part involves using a goniometer plugin.