Connecting my monitirs to my desktop computer???

johnhpower

I have what I think is a simple question and I hope someone can answer it. I am new to home recording, I recently purchased a Zoom R16 and a pair of JBL powered monitors. I (actually we) record to the SD card. I also just purchased Presonus Home Studio 5 Artist which I want to use for my editing and final mixing/mastering. We will record the tracks dry on the Zoom and I will then put the SD card into the computer and drag and drop the files into Presonus.

Because of my room dynamics the Zoom is located in a different location than my desktop computer. I want to be able to connect a 2nd set of monitors directly to my computer so I can hear what I am doing thru the monitors and I do not know how to do it. My preference would be to install a card in my computer that I could connect the cables to but I do not know if that exists so I am guessing a simple audio interface may be what you suggest. I know the Zoom can double as an audio interface but I do not want to be moving it back and forth.

At this point I do not need an audio interface for input into the DAW. I just want to be able to hear what I am working on thru monitor speakers.

Thanks

I think I'm missing something? You can plug an additional set of speakers into the computer's audio out socket with the correct cable, and the results may be OK, or not depending on the quality of the motherboard audio - these range from terrible with superimposed nasty noises to rather good. If you pop a card inside - it's probably cheaper and safer to buy a cheap USB external one to get away from bus noise inside the machine. Things like the common cheaper ones are actually quite good and better than most similar priced internal ones - even the cheap behringers do a damn good job, as do Scarletts and things like that. Nowadays, there's less and less good internal cards anyway.