Complete newbie trying to connect mic to PC

dovakin

I got this microphone: Boya BY-MM1

The cables came included with it are too short to connect to my desktop. Had intended to buy it for home recording but I seem to have bought something more fit on cameras unfortunately.

It came with two cables, TRS and TRRS. TRS works on the PC audio input jack in front of the case. TRRS doesn't.

I want to connect that to my PC with this cable: Anker 3.5mm Nylon Braided Auxiliary Audio Cable (4ft / 1.2m) Tangle-Free AUX Cable for Headphones, iPods, iPhones, iPads, Home/Car Stereos and More (Red)

Can't post the link, new member but if you google you'll find that on amazon.

Would it work? Would I need something different? The mic seems to have built in condenser.

Here's what it says on the mic specs:

Transducer: Electret Condenser
Polar pattern: Cardioid
Frequency Response: 35-18KHz +/-3dB
Sensitivity: -42dB +/- 1dB / 0dB=1V/Pa,1kHz
Signal to Noise Ratio: 76dB SPL
Plug: 3.5mm TRS and TRRS connection
Dimensions: Φ22*81mm

The BOYA BY-MM1 is a cardioid microphone, which specially design to improve the sound quality of videos on the basis of build-in microphones. With both TRS cable and TRRS output cable included, it canbe used on Smartphones, cameras, camcorders, audio recorders, PCs, and other audio/video recording devices.

Well, the one I found on amazon is an omni mic, as most lavs are. This, to be honest, is perfectly normal. In fact - a clip on mic is almost impossible to point, so omni are a 99% standard because you find the right place and the angle doesn't matter at all - many people like to point them away from the mouth, cable wise, which stops some of the pops and spit noises. Cable wise there's a bit more of a problem, but luckily you say it works on the TRS cable. Forget all the clever hype on cables. The cheapest will be fine like these.

FPUK 5 metre 3.5mm Jack Headphone: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics