Complete newbie here

farmertom311

hello all

I am just getting into home recording i have the scarlett solo and pro tools first pack. i have spent some time and learned how to mic my amp and record my amp to pro tools but I want to know if i can plug directly into my interface with my guitar and record to pro tools first? I think its called an amp sim? are those available for the setup I have? If so how do i get them

thank you
God Bless

oh i may have many questions as this journey progresses so my apologies in advance

hello all

I am just getting into home recording i have the scarlett solo and pro tools first pack. i have spent some time and learned how to mic my amp and record my amp to pro tools but I want to know if i can plug directly into my interface with my guitar and record to pro tools first? I think its called an amp sim? are those available for the setup I have? If so how do i get them

thank you
God Bless

oh i may have many questions as this journey progresses so my apologies in advance

Welcome, and yes. You have everything you need to plug in direct and use amp sims. Just be sure you have the ASIO drivers installed (assuming you're on a Windows PC) for your interface for live monitoring without a bunch of latency. There are lots of options in the amp sim world, a lot of which are free.

Last edited:
Welcome, and yes. You have everything you need to plug in direct and use amp sims. Just be sure you have the ASIO drivers installed (assuming you're on a Windows PC) for your interface for live monitoring without a bunch of latency. There are lots of options in the amp sim world, a lot of which are free.

Pardon my ignorance but where do I get the plugins. And how do I get them into to pro tools.

Thanks

Most of them will be installed as plugins in your DAW. Ignite amps has a nice free amp plug called Emissary as well as some pedal emulations, pre-amp/power amp amulations, etc. IGNITE AMPS - Engineering for the moshpit