Can you use VST-plug ins in more than one DAW

iamx12

Hello dear all,

First introduce myself and my experience with recording.
I am new to recording, DAW and that stuff. I use Studio One 4 (SO4) prime (free version) now for more than a half year. In the beginning for midi-control. I play guitar and use a MIDI-controllable pedal.

Now I have started to write and make my own songs. Just for fun and learning from it to be a better musician. And I like it!!! At the moment I have already/or just only recorded four songs. Just me as keyboard, bass and guitar player and use some drums from the loopsamples. Use midi and presets from SO4 prime to make synth sounds ect. And now I have also recorded some vocals.

And there is the problem. I can't sing :) Autotune would be nice to try to fix something and just have fun to play with it. But to try I would like to try the trials of Melodyne and Antares. But I was wondering...

The question
Studio One 4 prime does not allow useing VST plug ins but I would like to use Studio One 4 as main DAW. I am thinking of buying the Studio One 4 professional but it is maybe a bit expensive to start with it while I am still in the great learning phase. And before buying the SO4 professional I would like to test a lot first like autotune VST. I know the SO4 professional version comes with Melodyne so I would like to test the trial version of Melodyne first.

I also heard good things about Ableton Live as DAW, certainly as second DAW to combine the strenghts of both DAWs. To test Ableton Live I was thinking of buying some hardware which comes mostly I mine region with Ableton Live. And this DAW allows VST plugins. But I was wondering/affraid if I use Ableton Live for the plugins like Antares trial, could I use the plugin later in Studio One 4 Prime/Professional also? Or do I need to buy new licenses than?