Can I run my Alesis Nitro Mesh via MIDI as a 3rd track in Ableton 10?

215MediaLive

I have the Presonus Studio 24C audio interface with 2 ins. 1/4 inch/XLR. I run my guitar and a mic for vocals using the 2 ins. What I want is to have (my Alesis Nitro Drum kit) all three connected at any given time to just play or track without having to unplug a device in order to insert the Alesis kit. I've always wanted a home studio and I finally have it! I'm also a drummer of 30 plus years who never was really able to play at home let alone record so now I can but I want to be able to pick up either device and just hit the power button without having to plug or unplug. I'm not sure if the MIDI outs on the Alesis will count as a sort of "audio in" full time. Thanks in advance for any advice and super stoked to be a part of this community.

You can record the Nitro's midi output while recording guitar and vocals through the 24C. You can do this with either a midi cable going from 24C midi out to 24C midi in, or going directly from Nitro USB to computer.

However, you would be recording midi data, not audio.

If you insert a drum VST on the recorded midi track, the midi will play the VST's drum sounds.

Alternatively, you can playback the midi through the 24C and back to the Nitro, or directly via USB, and the mid will play the Nitro, which you would be able to hear if it connected up to an amp.

Thanks Man.

You can record the Nitro's midi output while recording guitar and vocals through the 24C. You can do this with either a midi cable going from 24C midi out to 24C midi in, or going directly from Nitro USB to computer.

However, you would be recording midi data, not audio.

If you insert a drum VST on the recorded midi track, the midi will play the VST's drum sounds.

Alternatively, you can playback the midi through the 24C and back to the Nitro, or directly via USB, and the mid will play the Nitro, which you would be able to hear if it connected up to an amp.