Buying A PA System (UPDATE!!!)

Broth3rz

So I have to put on a live event once a month now with something that came up and I wanna do it right so my budget is about $1,100. I'm kinda new to all this but willing to learn. I don't know exactly all I need.

I will need to have 4 MICs set up and would love to have 2 speakers. The first 2 MICs are for vocals (singing), one is for the acoustic guitar, and the last MIC is wireless. There will be a 88-key keyboard plugged into the mixer, the speakers, wireless MIC, and 3 other MICs. I believe that's it for now. There will be no drums or guitar amps or anything.

This is what I have chosen at the moment.

Mackie 1202VLZ4 (with this mixer can it add reverb, if so how?)
Audio-Technica AT2020 (have 3 brand new in box already for $240, can return if needed)
TONOR UHF

As for the speakers I was kinda thinking on the Rockville Dual 12. I'm not sure if I need anything else for the speakers or if these would work or even work well.

I guess apart from accessories for the MICs, the only other thing I need are the speakers. I'm not sure what to go with. It's not a HUGE event, like 50 people in a church sanctuary. But I would like to future-proof some.

I don't quite understand power and non-powered mixers and speakers and what works with what, and I know the MICs have to have Phantom power which that mixer should provide the power for all 4 XLR slots for the MICs if I ever do get another XLR.

Now after an hour of live singing I will need to play music via Bluetooth with my cell phone through the speakers also for the next hour. So it's an hour for live and hour for Bluetooth music playlist.

Am I missing anything? This is pretty simple it seems but learning the technical stuff is harder. What would you do in my situation?

Last edited:
Some thoughts: