building a home studio: Audio Recording

KingKapua96

What's up y'all. I'm an upcoming artist and was looking into building my own home studio. As of right now I'm short on money and want to get something started at least. I'm looking at HP laptops until I could afford something like a MacBook. So my two main questions are; 1. When it comes to Windows Laptops (or Desktops) what are the best brands to look at when setting up a studio? 2. Do you guys recommend using FL Studio to record on windows or is there a better software I could use instead. Any other tips and recommendations towards a home studio in total is greatly appreciated. Let me know what Y'all think :cool:

My take on your questions:

1) it's less about the brand of the computer, and more about the specs of the hardware inside. All brands make some lemons, and most brands make some good computers. It depends on what you're planning to do with it. Audio tracks? MIDI? VST FX? VST instruments? Lots and lots of tracks or a few? Tell us your use case and your budget and we can be more specific with recommendations.

2) FL Studio is fine, but so are most of the other big DAWs. Think about your use case, what you plan to do, then download demos of all of the DAWs and give them a try to see what fits your needs and your workflow. They all do mostly the same stuff, but in different ways.

Give us some details about what kind of music, what kind of instruments, how many simultaneous things you're planning on recording and we can be more helpful.