Beginner's vocal equipment

richy

Hi, and hello! I'm new to the forum and am looking for some advice about acquiring some equipment for my 8 year old daughter. She has vocal lessons but I want her to be able to practice and record at home. Her coach has recommended an SM58 microphone but when I've investigated the other equipment its turned out more expensive that I would like with monitors and audio interface. I'm wandering if there is a cheaper option, perhaps utilising my existing hi-fi AV receiver and speakers? Could I get away with just buying a microphone and audio interface? If so, which ones would you recommend, and what software do I need? I'm a complete newbie so any guidance would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

The vocal coach recommended the SM58 because of many reasons: they are durable (will survive a drop), make a good performance mic, and hold their value.
If your hi-fi has an auxiliary input, then you can run a cable from the audio output of the interface to it.
This would be the least expensive practical interface: Behringer U-Phoria UM2 | Sweetwater

I would get a microphone stand, too - one with a boom attachment so it can be adjusted lower for your daughter's height (and hope to grow with her as she continues). Having her hold the mic at this point would be an additional challenge. The mic, cable and stand often are sold as a package for not much more than the microphone itself.

Richy;

First question I will ask is this: Is your daughter really serious and committed to singing, do you see her sticking at it long-term? Two or more years?