Audio peaks at -.5 dBFS in Pro Tools but clips at up to 5.4 dBFS in Sony Vegas Pro?!

austinm08

the pigeon knows the way.
wtf, mate.

Can someone please explain what is going on with Sony Vegas Pro?! lol..

I don't understand this.

My stereo mix peaks at -.5 dBFS in Pro Tools, but when I bring it into Sony Vegas Pro for my video, it's clipping like crazy (up to 5.4 dbFS)... anyone have an explanation? I admit that I'm a noob when it comes to audio for video, but this makes NO sense to me..

wtf, mate.

I don't understand this.

My stereo mix peaks at -.5 dBFS in Pro Tools, but when I bring it into Sony Vegas Pro for my video, it's clipping like crazy (up to 5.4 dbFS)... anyone have an explanation? I admit that I'm a noob when it comes to audio for video, but this makes NO sense to me..

I don't know Vegas Pro at all, but how can you get "up to 5.4 dBFS"?

I don't know Vegas Pro at all, but how can you get "up to 5.4 dBFS"?

I guess that wouldn't make much sense. But that's just what Vegas is saying when it clips. It shows a value on the meter every time it moves and that's the highest value it's giving me as I watch it.

:confused:

(it's in the negatives when not clipping)

The only explanation that I have is that you have pre-fader metering on in Pro Tools, and you're pushing the fader up 5.9 dB, but the meter's showing you -0.5dBFS, whereas Vegas is showing you 5.4dBFS.

Either way, there's no such thing as a positive value for that scale, so I agree with you: WTF?

Instead of doing a bounce out of Pro Tools, record your mix onto an Audio Track in Pro Tools (via Bussing), and see what your meter reads there.

Also, is there any import settings you might be missing on Vegas? As I said, I'm unfamiliar with Vegas, but it could have some kind of Gain Boost or Normalization setting for import that you could have selected.