Audio interface to mixer setup.

tga1958

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie and couldn't find an answer after searching for a while.
There are three things I'd like to do.
First, just play music from my laptop to my speakers.
Second, get into home recording.
Third, set up some half decent karaoke for the kids.

Here's what I have:
Laptop > Focusrite 2i4 > Xenyx1202FX mixer > EP4000 power amp > Speakers.
I'd like to use the equalisers on the mixer. They're only available on the mono channels. Is there a way to set this up, or do I need a better mixer.

Thanks very much.
If there's a better forum to post this, please let me know.

Laptop > Focusrite 2i4 > Xenyx1202FX mixer > EP4000 power amp > Speakers.

For what you want to do, that arrangement looks fine, particularly for playing music or karaoke. For example you can play a backing track from the lap yop, and hook up some mikes to the xenyx, and terrorise the neighbours satisfactorily with your singing.

For recording, you can go the reverse: mikes into Xenyx, into focusrite into laptop. Bear in mind that the focusrite only gives you two discrete channels, so that's all you can record independently and simultaneously.

You can use the EQ on the xenyx for mike channels, but not for the stereo line-in channels. That's probably just as well, because the channel EQ is very basic. You are better off managing the EQ of the music or backing tracks within the laptop itself. Or you can get yourself a graphic EQ unit and put it between mixer and amp.

That is a seriously powerful amplifier even if they are "Behringer's speccs" it is still capable of destroying speakers. I hope yours are up to the task!
Then, since you will be using a live mic watch the feedback, can burn out a voice coil in a trice not to mention doing ears no good at all.

Dave.

Thanks Dave. It's a bit of a midlife crisis I think. I picked up the amp for a song with a burned diode. It's in the repair shop.