Audio Interface/Headphone Amp

RedPanther

Hello! I'm kinda new to music production and would really appreciate some guidance! Right now, my equipment (except for my DAW - reaper, Ableton) consists of a Maschine Mikro MK3 and a Komplete Kontrol A25. I really want to buy some new headphones cause I can't afford studio monitors and I'm thinking between Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 or 250 Ohms. Just because I'm only interested in music production and don't record any vocals with mic , or have any real instrument , I haven't bought any Audio Interfaces. Now I know that the headphones I'm interested in buying (and especially the 250 Ohms) are gonna need a headphone Amp. Sadly i have no clue of AIs and Amps , so I was wondering if there are any affordable AIs that are cabable to work as Headphone Amps or at least at a certain level. Else you can recommend me a cheap headphone Amp that would fit the headphones. Lastly, if the cost extends a certain amount that i can't afford will it be ok to settle for the 80 Ohms without an Amp? Thanks for your time!

Now I know that the headphones I'm interested in buying (and especially the 250 Ohms) are gonna need a headphone Amp.

Why do you say that you need a headphone amp?

How are you using headphones at the moment? Maybe mini stereo 3.5mm jack into a laptop?

Why wouldn't you do the same with the Beyer Dynamics?

The specifications for both 80 and 250 Ohm cans gives a max input of 100mW. That translates to 5V rms for the 250R phones and that sort of voltage will not be delivered from any budget headphone amp leave alone most AIs or laptops. Not that you should ever need quite five volts of drive! That would be well over 100dB in the ear and that should be considered a very rare PEAK level. Nonetheless, the 250R cans will be harder to drive from "non-pro" sources.