Audio is ALWAYS too quiet

JGTW

Hello! I'm new on this forum, but I have been a musician, band member and home recorder for about 20 years now.

By far the biggest dissapointments regarding home recording for me is this: my audio always seems to be too quiet.

I record in Cubase 10 Elements through:
- a Yamaha mg10xu mixer/2 channel OUT audio interface
- directly from my Yamaha CP73 keyboard through USB (= i.e. an audio interface as well)

When I record through the Yamaha CP73 keyboard, the volume buttons are inactive, so I presume the audio level I send out is very much OK.

I get this in Cubase:
Schermafbeelding 2020-10-24 182425.jpg

When I export this and playback, this is obviously too quiet compared to any other source...

In total this would look something like this:
samen.jpg

It also always sounds like there is just no headroom: when I use the faders to turn up the volume, this almost immediately results in a red master fader and distortion...

Obviously i'm doing something wrong. I'm very good with IT, computers and audio and I also did a Cubase intro course, but clearly I'm missing a link here.

When you route a sound source to the input channel, do the meters hardly move? If this is the case, you need to increase your channel gain on the external mixer - if you have a level on the mixer master, this should be the same level in cubase's ;eft hand input channels. If these are low, you could try this - insert on the input channel the cubase compressor, found in the dynamics menu, turn on the compressor but adjust it to not really compress, then use the makeup gain function to increase the output level. This works for me when I am too lazy to walk across the room to actually turn up the interface gain for a quiet patch. I suspect it might also work for the usb input from the keyboard, but to be honest I thought that was for MIDI - I didn't know the Yamaha sent audio from the keyboard, so cannot comment.