Analog Multitrack recorders vs. Digital Multitrack recorders

orificium

I have no experience recording at all. My band consists of 2 guitarists, a drummer, a bassist, and a keyboardist. Most likely more than one vocalist.

First off should we just start out with a 4-track or would an 8-track be a better idea?

Secondly, and my main question, do we go analog or digital? From what this recording engineer tells me analog is better. Not sure exactly what he means by this. Most likely he's referring to the actual sound. But it seems that digital is more versatile.

Thanks.

Go digital man

There are a lot of people in this world that just don't like digital. There is a diference between the two. analog has a bit warmer sound than digital how ever digital is a lot easier to work with. And as far as I am concerned you should go with a minimum of 8 tracks. More is better in this case. One reason is the drums. When you are able to record you drums on different tracks, you can apply different eq's and affects to each drum. If you just dump them to 2 tracks you do not have that luxury. One more thing that I will throw in my 2 cents in, in order to get that good warm analog sound, you need to have good (big bucks) analog equipment.

JC makes a great point -- good analog recording gear costs a bundle and takes a lot of maintenance (cleaning tape heads and other parts of the transport, demagnetizing, etc.).

You can probably find gazillions of arguments on either side. To my ears, digital sounds better if it's done right and if you are listening on typical everyday gear. Working in the digital domain is also so flexible that it's almost ridiculous. It's almost too easy to move things around and combine takes and fiddle with editing the waveforms -- there are so many options it can be an impediment, trying to decide where to stop and draw the line.

-AlChuck

It's all a question of budget. 4 tracks is cheaper than 8 tracks is cheaper than 16...