Affording Expensive Gear

zipline7020

So right now I'm a college student at a music university, and Im trying to build my own studio to record my friends and I. Anyway I'm already maxed out in my credit hours and working a small job to help pay for food/gas. What are some ways I can afford more studio gear.

Specifically, and axe fx 2. Right now i use a POD HD, and I always feel dis-satisfied with what I'm getting. Most of my favorite bands use axe fx, and I feel maybe I could get closer to what Im looking for with that. I play all sorts of different styles, so just buying 1 amp wouldn't do because I use different amp sounds for different things. And it needs to be a modeler because I can't seem to find a place near the college that allows loud guitar cabs. So axe fx 2/kemper whatever, both are amazing and expensive.

and other gear, but thats the main one that comes to mind.

*side note over

So what are some ways you can recommend for someone in my position to raise the money beyond my normal job for an expensive yet seemingly crucial piece of gear? Money keeps getting tighter and harder to stow away for later, and I would like to have this before I finish my undergrad, which is in a year and a few months.

It really depends on your skill set. I mean, can you think of ANYTHING you are talented at that you could use to get paid? Drawing up album art for someone, maybe recording demos for bands with your current gear, designing some basic websites for bands...?

Shoot, even just mowing lawns or raking leaves and shoveling snow is a possibility. My first thought was Sweetwater credit card (that's what I use whenever I've got some new gear I'm really jonesing for), but they only have the Kemper, and personally I'd go for an Axe-FX over that. But that's just me.