Advice needed - I need recommendations for a good set up for recording

Gary Toward

I am still new to recording music. I have a Rode NT1A mic and a Focusrite Scarlett and I use Garage Band on my Macbook Air. However I want to start getting a cleaner sound and also enjoy playing live gigs on FB with other musicians so I need it to do more so I can plug in multiple mics.

Long story short I need recommendations for a decent mixing desk preferably small in size and at least 4 inputs and channels. Do I go second hand on ebay to get more for my money or buy new. I am not rich so I am looking to get something for about £150 at the most. Can someone recommend something for me.

Thanks in advance for your help.

There are plenty of mixers out there - Allen + Heath, Mackie, Behringer, Yamaha. You will take the main output from the mixer to your Focusrite into the computer.

An interface with multiple mic inputs is what you need. When you say "mixing desk", I'm guessing you mean a multichannel mixer. The issue with these is that while they may have more inputs, most of them only provide a couple of channels to the computer. They are often limited to 16bit/44.1 or 48kHz. If you are concerned with getting the cleanest signal, 24 bits is the way to go. You get significantly more headroom to work with.

You could go with something like the Behringer UMC404HD which runs £110 from Thomann. If you can spring for a bit more, you can go all the way up to the UMC1820 with 8 mic preamps.

The NT-1A is generally good. Some people find it bright, but you can tame the top end with some EQ adjustment. Mics tend to have more "personality" than audio interfaces. Is there some particular aspect of the NT-1A that you don't care for? Do you have any recordings that we can hear that might help us make suggestions. Sometimes its not the equipment, but the room that causes issues. Some acoustic treatment might help.