Advice - Looking for help with drums

Hot Rats

Hi,

I am a very non-serious bedroom musician but I am getting frustrated with one aspect of recording - drums.

Here is my current setup
Cubase 5 on Win98
Yamaha SY22 (very old, but the sounds do for me)
Alesis SR16 drums
Alesis Quadraverb
Tascam 8 Track

The fact is, I hate creating my own drum patterns and I'm not very good at it. I've tried getting hold of midi drum patterns but even then I can never seem to get them into a shape I like. I have been toying with the idea of a sampler for some time for using loops and doing it that way, but I am looking for ideas really.

The sounds in my SR16 are not fantastic but they would probably do. I'm more interested in the patterns themselves, but if there's something that helps me do both at the same time, that's great.

Obviously, cost is an issue because getting something that's too expensive would be pointless, because I would be unable to play due to 2 broken arms, courtesy of the missus.

There you go then. Sick of writing crap drum patterns and need something with a bit more class.

Can you suggest anything? What do you lot out there use?

Same problem..

Howdy. :)

I actually had the same problem for a time. However, rather than continue to upgrade my drum machines, I finally opted to purchase a set of Roland V-Drums.

This might not be the solution for you, but it was just what the doctor ordered for me. There was (and still is) a substantial learning curve with regard to playing the drums...but in my opinion, you won't find a more legitimate sound with a less offensive footprint.

Perhaps the real question is, how long do you think it would take for your arms to heal? I imagine that by the time they healed, you'd have read the manuals front to back, seventeen times, and read every tip out there at least once... :)

That's harsh, she run over you with a car or something?