Adding XLR Mic Inputs To Interface

ChrisU

Hello,

My main question is how do you add XLR mic inputs to your existing audio interface?

I'm very new to recording and I recently bought a TASCAM US-1800, which, with 8 XLR inputs, is great for recording guitars/vocals etc. But I am also a drummer and will eventually want to start recording my set. I know that there are many micing techniques that can capture a kit with a minimal amount of microphones, but how could I possibly do a mic setup to satisfy my kit of 1 snare, 1 bass, 4 toms, and surrounding cymbals and effects pieces? Let's say I want double mic each drum (top and bottom heads) and use 4 overheads, so that would require at least 16 mics, double of what my US-1800 can handle!

I did watch a video of someone connecting a PreSonus DigiMax D8 to a TASCAM interface. But if the DigiMax can only be connected via the interface, then are the inputs on the back of the interface the maximum amount of inputs possible?

I have read that you cannot add 2 interfaces together. I also have the PreSonus AudioBox USB which has 2 mic inputs which could get me to 10 altogether but evidently it's not possible. Could a mixer do it? But I have read that some mixers are misleading and can only record 2 tracks at a time. Or do I need a mic preamp? And if I add any of these devices, how would I connect it to my current setup of interface to USB on my computer?

Just out of curiosity, say Terry Bozzio was recording and wanted to double mic every drum. Is that even possible? Is there any device out there that can handle that many mics at one time?

I really appreciate any input or answers! I'm on an incredibly small budget, sort of buying these things paycheck to paycheck while in college (TASCAM US-1800, 2 SM57's, AT2020, Alesis Elevate 3 monitors, Studio One 2).

Thanks!
Chris

To be honest, I think you should keep things simple.