absolute beginner needs home recording advice

syndrin

I am just beginning to explore the world of home recording and am finding it very overwhelming.....seems the more I learn the more I discover how little I know!
I am interested in recording an acoustic duo with myself and another acoustic guitarist (each of us singing as well) in a live practice environment...we'd like to lay some material down on CD that we can take to the club owners in the area to secure some bookings.
We're hoping to record to my laptop ( a Dell Inspiron 8200...P4 1.8ghz....512 ram....yamaha factory installed sound card) and to do it as cheaply as possible, at least for now, but still come out with something that sounds half decent....we're in the process of writing a lot of material and when we start to record that, then we'll probably want to upgrade our setup or look at a professional studio.
For now, though, we'd like to lay down some material that we can use in a promo package that is of good quality but need not be spectacular..does anyone have any ideas or advice?...all comments are greatly appreciated.
By the way, I have access to a Mackie PPM 808S mixer (with my other band) and I use a Yamaha AG stomp effects unit and a Shure Beta 87A mic if that helps at all....Thanks in advance!!

Well, if you're shooting for as cheap as possible, then just use that Mackie board to mix everything down to stereo. Run both guitars and both mics into the inputs and get them mixed so that it sounds ok on headphones. Make sure you do not have speakers on as you do this, because they will make it sound bass-heavy.

Once you have it sounding more-or-less right, run a cable from the line output of the mixer to the line input of your computer. Make sure you are using the mixer's line output and NOT NOT NOT its speaker output. If you hook up a 1200 watt amplifier's output to a computer's line input, you can kiss your soundcard goodbye.