Absolute Beginner

Comocks

Hello good people of the forum. Today is another day of celebration for all you enthusiastic teacher types out there, for I, Comocks, am an absolute beginner to the Art of Recording, and each and every one of you has this wonderful opportunity to influence my every recording decision from the ground up. I earnestly hope you will all take full advantage of my innocence, and that you will all assist me on my path to recording joy.

So. I take the Shure, I plug it into a 1/4 to 1/8 adapter, and I plug that into the microphone hole on my laptop. I open up Audacity, and I press 'record'.

That is the extent of my knowledge. Who knows what I'm doing wrong?

I probably know exactly what you're doing wrong, but with a first post like that, I'm not inclined to help you. Others may feel more generous....

Do what mjb says. Or google "How to use Audacity" and RTFM.

I note, in passing, that you haven't specified your actual problem... :eek:

But I can't fiiiiind any. They all use words like "soundcard" and "phantom power". I have no idea what I'm doing here, I really need some help!

Well, sometimes when I record I can't hear anything or the recording is extremely faint. Then also if I try to add distortion on my amp, the mic doesn't pick it up properly at all and the sound sort of fades in and out. I not understanding what to do :|

Those 1/8" "mic" jacks on computers aren't meant for recording music...they're more for podcasting/Skype kinda stuff. I'm guessing you've got a XLR-1/4" mic cable then? A signal quality will increase or decrease depending on it's signal chain quality (get to that in a minute), and yours isn't too hot :D

The basic setup for recording goes like this...
Amp(or whatever)-->mic-->soundcard-->computer (recording program)

For a soundcard, most of us here use an audio interface.
For a program, I'd recommend Reaper. It's free...just search it and download it. Audacity isn't that great.

Now I'll pause for questions lol.