Absolute Beginner

Can you really ask "What is a sound card?" And not be yanking our chain.
Most definitely. Look, maybe Comocks is really KCearl in disguise having a laugh but I'm inclined to take a question from a newbie as it comes unless I've got a damned good reason not to. And I've long been acutely aware of the syndrome of acquiring knowledge and then gradually and subtly assuming that everyone should know that which I have known. The night before my Dad died, we were having a conversation and he told me he was a lousy teacher when I commented on his enthusiasm for maths and science. I asked him why he felt that and he replied that he just would not summon the patience to guide someone that couldn't see what he saw so readilly or felt they should know. He actually was a teacher for a year. Some of his students may have become bitter young men ! :D
Truth be told, when some newbies ask the same questions that have been asked daily for eons, sometimes one just wants to track them down and beat them heartilly like a snare and double bass drum set up. But none of us was born with any of the knowledge we currently possess. We were all newbies once. And our roads have been different. We progress at different rates. Some take to things like a newborn antelope. Others love to read. Some are more hands on. Some are constantly clueless and take 4 times longer than everyone else. And going through an internet forum in some ways is harder........to those for whom it is harder.
I didn't know what a soundcard was until a couple of years ago. Much of the language of current computer recording still leaves me going "eh ?". But bit by bit, by osmosis, in it goes.
Just because someone shows an interest in doing something doesn't mean they have a clue how to go about it.