4 Track Cassette Tape

Gavin

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie. Please forgive me for asking this question.

I recently got hold of an old Tascam 4 Track recorder. However it didn't come with a cassette tape.

My question: What type of tape do you use for 4 track recording? A regular cassette tape? A special 4 track tape? Where would I get one of these 4 track tapes and what are they actually called? Multi track tapes?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

A regular (high Bias) cassette tape will do my friend.
Cassettes are actually 4 tracks, 2 on side A and 2 on side B.

I believe it goes like this on a regular deck ....
side B left <---

What your deck does is this ......
track 4 --->

Thanks eyeslikefire,

Man do I feel stupid. I was looking all over the net for a specail multi track 4 track cassette tape.

And all I needed was a normal tape.

Many thanks for your help.

All the best,

I'd recommend TDK. The semi-expensive chrome or metal ones. The really expensive ones doens't sound that much better as I recall it.

TDK or Maxell high bias is fine. Do not use a tape that is longer than 90 minutes total time. The tape gets thinner the longer it is and will stretch over time and is more subject to print-through while it is being stored. TASCAM recommends a 60 minute tape, but 90 is acceptable.

Some people have custom lengths made of five to ten minutes or so and use a separate tape for every recording.

I've heard talk in the past of the TDK shedding more, but I had never experienced it.

What I have experienced with TDK is high frequency drop-out. Now I don't know if this is because of shedding I can't see because I clean my head stack religously, or something else wrong with the tape.

I switched to Maxell years ago and I've never had any problems.

The TDK formulation may be improved by now. This was years ago.