diy lighting?

metalboy458

im new to do videos, and just wanted to know if there was a way i could make somting for lighting? its not going to be for anything big. just some videos to be put on youtube for this new band im putting together. just seems to be the thing to do these days. so the videos are mostly going to be for updates and my singer and my playing some of our songs and doing covers on acoustics. so super simple stuff, i just want them to look as good as i can get.

as far as video goes, for now we are just going to use cameras from either one of our macbooks and/or ipad/iphone. but we are looking into buying a camera so any suggestions would be great. i was looking into the zoom q2hd hand held camera/audio recorder. it seems cool and perfect to just set up on my desk.

any suggestions or links or anything would be very much appreciated.
thanks in advance.

Honestly, saying, "I want to get into video using webcams and cellphones," is a bit like saying, "I want to score a symphony using kazoos and, BTW, I don't know anything about symphonies, scoring or kazoos." As with home recording, there are plenty of good tools available that will let you approach professional quality, but they tend to be on the expensive side and, more to the point, require extensive knowledge and experience to produce a good result. You need to understand technical concepts like depth-of-field, focal length, composition, color temperature, gamma, black-level and a host of other things. You won't produce anything remotely decent with an iPhone or Macbook camera, nor will you get anything good from a Zoom q2h. For starters, Google the difference between cmos and ccd sensors and, while you're at it, Google sensor size, density and video compression artifacts. As for DIY lighting, halogen work lights of the sort you can get a home improvement stores can work well, but only if you understand color temperature, light placement and color timing.