Completely new to video

bluesfordan

apart from some messing with camcorders back in the late '80s and early '90s, I have zero experience in video. I should ameliorate that statement with a college course of video production I took. But we really didn't get to do all that much in class that was our own personal production, it was all group and on analog video equipment, no computer involvement at all.

No, this is my first attempt at the ubiquitous music video of guitar in chair in front of camera. iPhone SE. Pair of SM57. UMC404HD interface. Mac Mini. QuickTime.

a nearly 6 minute video was almost 900 MB in size. I'm going to take a wild guess that i don't need to be recording at such resolution.

I want to be able to look at what I did while playing, find the bits and pieces that I want to work up into compositions. I'll have to go back to the other computer and see what I did, but I think it was in HD. That right there probably accounts for a lot of that 900 MB. The vast majority of the footage won't be kept.

After making sure I'm in SD, what's my next step in reducing the file size per minute?

In QuickTime, there are two options, HD and medium, whatever that is. I tried medium last night and I dunno, a shorter video still took over 800 MB.

Another video app, maybe?

Are you saying the original video format is that? What's the iPhone format set to?

I'd start with 1080p HD at 30fps and then render to 720p unless you've got something spectacular that needs the detail. Plus, it gives you some room to do cropping without ending up with a really fuzzy result.

The size seems a little high. I just looked at a video I made of a couple kids at an open mic and it's about 2.5m. At 720p the size is only 125MB. Keep in mind the amount of squishing that can be accomplished does depend to some degree on the video content and quality settings in the movie software.