Zeppelin cover

michigan~

Hi,

This is a cover of Good Times Bad Times by Led Zeppelin. We don't have any good mics yet (this was recorded with one sm57 and some random fender PA mics,) but any tips/commpents are appreciated.

Thanks

cool cover. i think you did well with the recording especially considering the mikes used. nice playing all around but the vocal delivery could use some oomph. thumbs up to the guitarist.

Man, I don't know where to start.....I guess I'll just talk about the drums and let others give their opinions on the rest.

Concerning the drums....If the drummer can't nail the drum parts, you shouldn't be doing this tune. The beats and drum parts in this tune are signature Bonzo, and to have a drummer playing when it doesn't even seem like he even took the time to learn the parts, you might as well not do the song. He doesn't have one part right, except for the intro.

I'm not trying to be hard on you. But, as a drummer, I'm more than a little disappointed to hear a version where the drums are so weak compared to the original.

nah, I'm nit-picking to a certain extent, because it's not a bad recording overall. But those drums have to be there...especially in this tune.

No one can play like John. Dude the tune is fine. I do covers and play all the instruments myself and the drums always are not like the original or the guitars. I just have fun doing it.

BushmasterM4 said:
No one can play like John. Dude the tune is fine. I do covers and play all the instruments myself and the drums always are not like the original or the guitars. I just have fun doing it.
There's a difference between "Playing like John" and doing a song justice.

People up their tunes up for critique, not just for pats on the back. We're entitled to our opinions and I wish people would always be brutally honest with me too.

In my opinion, the drums are far from fine.

If someone posts a song just to get compliments, I would hope they'd make that clear in their first post. :)